A new WhatsApp feature could make it much easier to use the app without feeling the pressure to reply instantly.
That’s because the popular messaging app is tipped to be working on a ‘stealth mode’ that’ll allow you to hide the fact you’re online.
At the moment, if WhatsApp users want to appear absent, they have to conceal their ‘Last Seen’ status.
In a future version of the app, users will be able to do this with their ‘online’ status as well.
It’ll mean you can use WhatsApp without any of your contacts knowing you’re online.
The upcoming privacy feature was spotted by the team at WABetaInfo, who are constantly scanning for new updates.
The blog posted a screenshot of the feature along with a description of how it’ll work:
It will be possible to configure who can see when we are online right within our last seen settings thanks to two new options: “Everyone” and “Same as Last Seen”. For example, if you choose “My contacts” for “Last Seen” and “Same as Last Seen” for “online”, it means non-contacts won’t be able to see when you’re online.
The discovery was made in the beta trial version of WhatsApp that’s used to test out new features.
According to the site, iPhone users will be able to find it under the Privacy tab in the Settings menu. However, there’s no fixed date yet on when it’ll be rolled out publicly.
Source: Read Full Article