Stop your friends keeping hold of your secret pics with new Whatsapp feature

You'll soon be able to stop your friends keeping hold of any compromising pics in the group chat, thanks to an upcoming WhatsApp feature which introduces disappearing photos and videos to the app.

Currently, WhatsApp users are only able to send disappearing text messages which vanish from view after 24 hours, 7 days, or 3 months.

However, it now looks like WhatsApp is introducing support for 'view once' photos and videos which would disappear from view after a set time period.

In the latest WhatsApp beta update, WhatsApp has reportedly added the ability to open these single-view media in the app.

There's a catch though. While the ability is in the app, the feature is not available to everyone just yet as it seems WhatsApp are still laying the groundwork for it.

According to WABetaInfo: "Unfortunately, it is still not possible to send view once photos and videos, but this feature is planned to be released in a future update, so be sure to keep up to date your WhatsApp beta build from the Microsoft Store."

The update follows the addition of new features to WhatsApp including a global voice note player and default disappearing messages.

  • Nasty 'one click hack' email can steal your savings instantly – delete it from Gmail now

How to join the WhatsApp beta programme

To test out new features like this in future, you'll need to sign up to the WhatsApp beta which you can access for free via the app.

To sign up, follow these steps:

  1. Open WhatsApp and tap the three dots, then head to 'More Options'
  2. Tap Linked Devices
  3. Hit 'Multi-device beta'
  4. Tap 'Join beta'

The WhatsApp beta is how the app developers test new and experimental features before releasing them to the general public.

If you join the beta programme, you'll get to try out nifty new features on a weekly basis, such as message reactions, a new app layout, and even cryptocurrency payments.

Source: Read Full Article