How to secretly view WhatsApp images without opening the chat

There’s a secret trick to view images on WhatsApp without alerting the sender to the fact you’ve seen them.

It neatly sidesteps that awkward pressure of having to reply because they know you’ve seen their message.

As we know, when it comes to WhatsApp the message report begins with one grey tick (when sent), then two grey ticks (when the message has reached their phone), then two blue ticks (when it’s been read). You’ll also find the images saved to your camera roll (unless you’ve got this option switched off) once you’ve viewed them.

Sadly, the way to skip the ticks only works on iPhones so if you’re using an Android-based device you’re out of luck.

It’s a very simple method and involves exporting the chat as a downloaded file – along with any images that are attached.

Here’s how to do it.

How to secretly open images from a WhatsApp message.

Firstly, you need to open WhatsApp and made sure you’re in the main chat window, showing a list of all your conversations.

  • Select the chat you want to view the messages and images from and press down. Keeping your finger down, swipe to the left.
  • You’ll see the ‘More’ option appear.
  • Tap on ‘More’ and then tap on ‘Export Chat’.
  • Tap on ‘Attach Media’
  • Then tap on ‘Save to Files’
  • Choose where you want the exported chat to save and this is where you’ll find the messages and photos.

You can view them without anyone else in the chat knowing you’ve seen what they sent.

Other WhatsApp tricks to try

Another obvious way of checking messages without alerting anyone about it is to switch your phone to airplane mode and then read the message.

Airplane mode disables any WiFi or data connection so WhatsApp can’t tell the sender you’ve read their chat. Of course, as soon as you exit airplane mode, the chat will update and they’ll get the blue ticks.

Which kind of defeats the point.

The other often-used trick is to slide down the notification panel from the top of your phone and read the message that way. Depending on what phone you use, you may only get a section of the message.

Alternatively, if you’d rather not show anyone you’ve read any of their messages ever, you can turn off ‘read receipts’ in your settings.

It’s under the Privacy option and unticking the box will let you go dark permanently.

Just be warned – it’s a double-edged sword as you won’t be able to see when anyone else has read your messages either.

Finally, the ‘last seen’ or ‘last online’ function of the likes of Facebook and WhatsApp means you’re letting people know when you’re on your phone and when you’re not.

If you want to turn this off, go into your Privacy settings, tap Last Seen and you can customise who can see when you were last online.

You can make it so only certain people can see it, or just cut all the hassle and let nobody know when you’re online and when you’re away.

Source: Read Full Article